I Promise You

I don’t make promises lightly. A promise means that it absolutely must be. Promises are NOT made to be broken, despite what your dark thoughts tell you. And so, this is the part where I promise you:

I will hold you up if you can’t do it yourself.

I will hold your hand when you’re scared. I can’t take away the fear, but I can be the steadiness in the storm.

If a treatment doesn’t work, we will try something else. We will keep trying until we find something that makes you feel okay about waking up every morning.

If other people can come back from the very depths, you can too!! You can. You can do this. WE can do this. Please don’t give up. PLEASE DON’T GIVE UP.

No matter what, I will always love you. There is nothing you can do, say, think or feel that will make me not love you.

I promise you that your demons are WRONG. They are lying, sneaky bastards, and they are lying to you. THEY ARE LYING TO YOU. They are filling your soul with hate and hurt, and they are WRONG.

I promise you that the memes that tell you that people will always leave you, will always hurt you, the ones that say that people will only hurt and hate you – they’re WRONG. I promise you that the ones that tell you that there is love in the world are RIGHT.

I promise you that we can do this. We are stronger! We can beat the hate, the fear and the anguish.

Once upon a time, you were strong enough to stand up to a tormenter. You looked at her and shouted at her to STOP. This time, you need to look inside yourself, and you need to stand up and gently say to yourself, “It’s okay. I love you.”

I promise you that I will hold you. If we have to sit in one spot all night while I hold you and rock you, I will. And in the morning, we will try again.

I promise you that you are worth whatever it takes. I promise you!!

I promise you that even if you can’t believe my words, I will keep trying. I promise.

I promise you that even if every fibre of your being tells you that I’m lying or wrong, I promise you that I will still keep fighting for you.

I promise.

Leave a Reply

